Our school was named after Pierre Nicolas, a French native born in 1845. After migrating to California in 1866, Nicolas began to raise sheep and cattle. After moving to Fullerton at the age of 32, he bought 131 acres of orange and walnut groves along the small road that was later named Nicolas Avenue, known today as Euclid Avenue. He built his home Southeast of the railroad and a hotel, Nicolas House, at the northwest corner of Spadra Road (Harbor Boulevard) and Santa Fe Avenue. Nicolas was known for his cheerful hospitality and charming nine children. Built in 1955 as an elementary school, Nicolas became a junior high school for seventh and 8th grade students in 1956 and has served junior high school students ever since.